Welcome to the Tribe...

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Default App Scaling for SCS remote access

    I just purchased a new Microsoft Surface Pro 4 (tablet PC) for use for remote access. I am having an issue with the SOAPware app scaling. When I log into the cloud and attempt to login to SW, the the display is literally microscopic. I have read several forums and tutorials regarding this, as apparently this is a common issue for people trying to connect remotely with this device and tablet PCs in general. It is supposedly not a difficult fix either, however we have not yet been successful. Any assistance with this would be greatly appreciated as I bought this device solely for work purposes and would love to get started using it! Thank you in advance for your help.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 2,922, Level: 35
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    Points
    2,922
    Level
    35

    Lightbulb Display Adjustments

    https://www.microsoft.com/surface/en...-10&=undefined

    The following can be used to help make adjustments. Its difficult for us to troubleshoot these issues, because we wouldn't see the screen sizing how you see it.
    Brandon Dorsey
    Database Administrator & Integrations Specialist | SOAPware, Inc.

  3. #3
    SOAPware Forum Junkie!
    Points: 7,572, Level: 61
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 278
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience PointsOverdrive

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Anderson, IN
    Posts
    208
    Points
    7,572
    Level
    61

    Default

    Same thing happened to me when I upgraded from a Toshiba laptop (1366x768) to a 1080p Dell where the recommended zoom is 150%. It looks like some elements on the SW graphic don't follow this zoom and thus appear small on the screen. This also causes layout/overlapping issues.

    My workaround involved doing something I should have been doing anyway, which is an RDP to a wired machine with its own lower resolution settings. (My exam rooms don't have ethernet so I had been connecting to the server via wifi directly from my laptop, which is not recommended.) Changing to a lower resolution on my laptop not only didn't help, but wasn't something I wanted to do anyway.

    So my situation is a little different given the local server vs. cloud, but may share a common issue. Can anybody at SW confirm that some graphic elements misbehave and don't follow local zoom instructions on the desktop?
    Mark Lawlor, MD
    Anderson Family Medicine, PC
    Anderson, Indiana

  4. #4
    SOAPware Forum Junkie!
    Points: 11,685, Level: 74
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranOverdrive10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    397
    Points
    11,685
    Level
    74

    Default

    about a year ago I quit using a tablet in the exam room, went back to a sheet of paper, Funny, time spent in room is much less. It was to "touchy" and I spent more time getting back to what I was doing before I touched something, or other.

  5. #5
    SOAPware Forum Junkie!
    Points: 15,524, Level: 85
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    558
    Points
    15,524
    Level
    85

    Default

    Did you just go back to paper or do you scan in the paper you use in the room, I was thinking of doing the same thing.

  6. #6
    SOAPware Forum Junkie!
    Points: 11,685, Level: 74
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranOverdrive10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    397
    Points
    11,685
    Level
    74

    Default

    I just use it for notes, "needs colonoscopy, add labs cycling" Fam Hx. Easy to jot down memory joggers while looking and listening to patient. I can do the notes later on much quicker and add billing codes at a desktop... Paper goes to billing, just to close the loop.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    3
    Points
    81
    Level
    1

    Default

    I resolved the issue. There was a very convoluted way involving going through the windows registry to adjust the scaling. It's fine now, just trying to figure out my work flow with it. I agree, I will likely use it for jotting notes. I hate being on the computer while talking to patients. I would rather finish the notes at another time. Thanks for all of the input.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •